All Traffic Commanders in Kampala Metropolitan Transferred

Police spokesperson, Emilian Kayima, says while the massive operations have been halted, traffic officers will continue to enforce traffic laws where necessary.
Kampala Metropolitan traffic commanders in a meeting with their commander Norman Musinga recently

Audio 1

Police has transferred all officers in-charge of Traffic and Road Safety at the different Divisional Police stations in Kampala Metropolitan Policing areas of Kampala, Wakiso, Mukono and Mpigi District.

The Police Director Human Resource Administration, Moses Balimwoyo communicated the transfers in a message issued at 10:30am on Monday. The affected officers have been moved to districts like Kasese, Kakumiro, Mubende and Rubirizi among others. Balimwoyo says, “the transfers and appointments take immediate effect."


The transfers have affected 23 traffic officers between the rank of Superintendent of Police (SP) and Assistant Superintendent of Police (ASP). 

The transfers come barely a day after the Director Traffic and Road Safety Stephen Kasiima halted all traffic operations against motorcyclists and drivers that have been ongoing for alleged extortion and abuse of office by traffic commanders.

The decision to halt the operations, which was communicated to all traffic commanders in an internal memo, was meant to pave way for investigations into allegations levied against the different police commanders.

The operations were aimed at apprehending motorists accused of defaulting under the Express Penalty Scheme (EPS) Defaulters, motorcyclists riding on pavements and carrying two passengers, Operation Fika Salama and reckless driving.



Police spokesperson, Emilian Kayima, says while the massive operations have been halted, traffic officers will continue to enforce traffic laws where necessary.


//Cue in: "Dr Stephen Kasiima…

Cue out: … so prescribes."//

Over the past two months, police has had to control five demonstrations by motorcyclists and Taxi drivers all of, which were aimed at protesting mistreatment by traffic officers.

The demonstrations were scheduled to take place in Old Kampala, Old Taxi Park, Natete, Mukono and Nansana.

List of transferred traffic officers

SP Kiberu Grace from Ssezibwa to KMP as Deputy Traffic Commander

ASP Wambesyo Israel from KMP to Ssezibwa as RTO

ASP Mpabaisi Tom from CPS Kampala to Sipi as RTO

ASOP Mugabi Sam from Kawempe to Albertine as RTO

ASP Kalezi Abedi from Jinja Road to West Nile as RTO

ASP Zilamuke Loy from Masindi to CPS Kampala as OC Traffic

ASP Luyima Julius from CPS Kampala to Masindi as OC Traffic

ASP Odongo Dickson from Kira Division to Ntungamo as OC Traffic

ASP Ndikuyeze Hadijah from Ntungamo to Kira Division as OC Traffic

ASP Kagumaho James from Bugiri to Old Kampala as OC Traffic

ASP Kamugisha Eliya from Old Kampala to Bugiri as OC Traffic

ASP Chelangat Irene from Albertine to Kawempe as OC Traffic

ASP Gamal Abdikadir from West Nile to Jinja Road as OC Traffic

ASP Angeyo Caroline from Wandegeya to Mpigi as OC Traffic

ASP Nsiime Saphan from Sipi to Kasangati as OC Traffic

ASP Rwakirenzi Reinhold from Kabalagala to Mubende as OC Traffic

ASP Magamba Peninah from Mubende to Kabalagala as OC Traffic

ASP Oinebye Bruce from Kasese to Kakiri as OC Traffic

ASP Ngabire Ruth from Kakira to Kasese as OC Traffic

ASP Mutungye Savasio from Kira Road to Kayunga

ASP Kobusingye Allen from Kasangati to Kira Road as OC Traffic

ASP Onono George from Mpingi to Kakumiro as OC Traffic

ASP Habyara Justus from Rubirizi to Njeru as Oc Traffic