Chaos As Kibaale NRM Results Are Announced

Police fired tear gas at National Resistance Movement party supporters in Kisiita sub-county, Kibaale district who were protesting results of the recent primaries.

Audio 2

National Resistance Movement supporters in Kisiita sub-county, Kibaale have protested party primaries results declared Saturday morning.

Supporters of Onesmus Twinamasiko, one of the aspirants for Bugangaizi East Constituency protested the results over alleged vote rigging.

Trouble started Saturday morning when the Kibaale District NRM registrar, Ritah Kisarare declared Aisha Black Agaba the winner of the election held on Friday in three sub-counties.

The Bugangaizi East Constituency was hotly contested by the incumbent MP Mabel Bakeine, Onesmus Tiwnamasiko and Aisha Black Agaba.

Kisarare declared Agaba winner with 29,468 votes against Twinamasiko\'s 26,194, while Bakeine polled 12,633 votes. Twinamasiko says the results were altered.

//Cue in: Runyakitara;Namugyira Ngu………..\'\'//

//Cue out:Runyakitara;………Kuzinyibaho.\'\'//

Dissatisfied with the final results, Onemsus Twinamasiko and his supporters attempted to grab the tally sheets from the registrar. Police intervened by firing teargas to disperse the group.

Kisarare denied the allegations saying that the polls were conducted and tallied with fairness. She advised Twinamasiko to petition.

//Cue in; Runyakitara;Busaho……….\'\'//

//Cue out;Runyakitara;……..saha zinu.\'\'//

Elsewhere, Robina Nabanja, the incumbent district woman MP was elected NRM flag bearer.

For the LC 5 flag, Peter Amara beat fellow aspirants by a difference of over 130,000 votes to get the NRM flag to contest for the seat again.

Other flag bearers in the district include Dr. Kasirivu Atwooki for Bugangaizi West, Eric  Musana Achali for Buyaga East, Barnabas Tinkasimire for Buyaga West and Matia Kasaija for Buyanja.