COFTU-NOTU Clash Over Choice of Workers Female Candidate

Campaigns for the election of the female workers MP have kicked off in High gear at Nelson Mandela National Stadium in Kireka Kampala.

But filling the slot for the female workers MP is proving a battle point for the two electoral colleges.

Under the new law passed by parliament on February 2nd 2011, workers representatives in Parliament shall be elected in accordance with the constitutions of the National Organization of Trade Unions (NOTU) and the Central Organization of Free Trade Unions (COFTU).

According to the Electoral Commission, three MPs will be elected under the auspices of National Organization of Trade Unions (Notu), one under Central Organization of Free Trade Unions (Coftu) and One female representative elected by the Electoral College comprising Notu and Coftu.

During the campaigns this morning, delegates from both NOTU and COFTU were seen negotiating on the choice of the candidate.

Lyomoki who on Monday was elected unopposed had earlier instructed the COFTU delegates to elect Beatrice Okenyi, but the COFTU delegates were divided over this.

Many were heard arguing that Okeny has never shown interest in the candidates and could be heard pushing for the likes of Mary Tunde, the incumbent youth female MP, and Agnes Kunihira.

But the numbers of the electoral colleges has complicated the matters. Coftu has 750 delegates, while Notu has just 250 delegates, creating huge imbalances in the voting patterns.

A meeting has been convened to strip the Coftu list off some of its delegates. But this decision has also sparkled off a row with some delegates questioning the criteria that would be used to erase some of the candidates from the list.

But Lyomoki maintains that if the Coftu members are reduced to 450, the election playground will be a little leveled.

The other contenders for the Female workers Parliamentary seat are Beatrice Achiro of COFTU, Alice Drito of the Uganda Media Union and Kim Atwoki Muhereza plus Agnes Biira.

The others are Charles Bakkabulindi (State Minister for Sports), Sam Lyomoki (chairman Coftu), Bruno Pajobo, Teo Sentongo, Arinaitwe Rwakajara, and Betty Kiruho.