DP\'s Nabukenya Reclaims Luweero Woman MP Seat

Top story
Nabukenya beat National Resistance Movement candidate Balwana Nalwanga Rebecca,Faridah Namubiru and Ramulah Kadaala. Nabukenya received 38, 582 votes.
NRM\'s Rebecca Nalwanga hugging her arch rival Brenda Nabukenya after voting at same polling station

Audio 5

Brenda Nabukenya the Democratic Party candidate has been declared the winner of Luweero Woman Member of Parliament by-elections.

Nabukenya beat National Resistance Movement candidate Rebecca Balwana Nalwanga and independents Faridah Namubiru and Ramulah Kadaala.

At 3:20am, the Luweero returning Officer Alex Komuhangi declared Brenda Nabukenya as winner of the by election after garnering 38,582 votes while her closest rival Rebecca Nalwanga received 22,236 votes  .

The other independent candidates Ramulah Kadaala pulled 768 votes and Faridah Namubiru got only 717 votes.

// Cue In:”I Komuhangi Alex…

     Cue out;….Egumire DP”//

Immediately after the declaration Nabukenya’s supporters who had been engaged in scuffles with police over delays in announcing the results broke into jubilation.  

Nabukenya says she expected to retake the seat people in the district are desperate for the change and NRM government has failed to deliver for 28 years.Nabukenya promised to front the unresolved veterans' compensation issues and tackle poverty.

// Cue out;”Ofcourse I expected…

      Cue out;…work together”//


// Cue in:”Kino nabadde nkimanyi…..

    Cue out;….lw’eggwanga olukulu.”//

The Bukoto South MP Mathias Nsubuga and Suzan Namaganda the Woman MP for Bukomansimbi describe Nabukenya's victory as a sign that people want change, including those who supported Museveni at the beginning of the six year bush war in this district. 

// Cue in;”This is a very…

     Cue out:…into power”//

Luganda Byte

//Cue in;”Tuli basanyufu nnyo…

    Cue out;…erina obusobozi”//

By time of filling the supporters of Brenda Nabukenya had hit roads celebrating whereas other stormed bars among other entertainment places. Neither NRM's Nalwanga nor other NRM leaders could be seen at the tally center. The Luweero Former LC 5 Chairman and Nalwanga's camapign agent Ronald Ndawula conceded defeat.

Tension in Luweeero and Wobulenzi town council is still high as police maintains heavy deployment to  avert any possible clashes over disagreements by supporters of NRM and Democratic party.

Nabukenya had won the same seat in November 2011 by elections but Appellant Court nullified in it 2014 on grounds that it was not conducted within the laws and ordered for by Elections.


1. She was the first ever woman to be elected as Kyambogo University Guild President.

  2. She has always been a UYD activist since University days and has remained so.

  3. She was elected DP Youth Leader at Mbale Delegates’ Conference in 2010.

  4. Initially she had wanted to stand for Kampala Woman MP but she lost the primary to Sarah Kanyike Ssebaggala (who later also abandoned the ticket to stand in Makindye East as Independent).

  5.Brenda decided to go back to her home constituency of Katikamu North in Luweero District and stood against Eng. Abraham Byandala in 2011 general elections. She lost.

  6.In June 2011 Brenda, together with fellow UYDs, made headlines when they organised what they claimed to be a “73 year old’’ Birthday party for President Museveni at the City Square, which Police foiled. 75 years is the constitutional limit for standing as President yet the President insists to be six years younger, having been born in 1944.

  7.In 2012, when the Luweero seat fell vacant after court nullified NRM’s Nalwanga’s election upon Dr Elizabeth Lugudde’s petion, Brenda who was neither in the first race nor part of the petition threw in her hat again on DP ticket.

  8.Much as all parties took part including FDC, Brenda emerged winner though controversially with a 30 votes margin. This was a big shock, with Luweero having been previously perceived as an NRM cradle and a no-go area for opposition parties.

  9.Nalwanga petitioned and won both in High court and Court of appeal leading to the latest by-election pitting DP against NRM, which Brenda has won with an overwhelmingly huge margin of over 16, 000 votes.

  10.This makes Brenda Nabukenya the 15th MP representing DP in the 9th Parliament.

  11.But Luweero has always been a cradle for DP. Dr. Kawanga Semogerere started his political career in Luweero when he represented the then North Mengo that covered Buruuli and part of Bulemeezi. Paul Walusimbi who nominated Dr. Semogerere is still alive and attended Nabukenya’s rallies. In 1980, DP swept all the 4 seats in the current Luweero area with MPs Joseph Sentenza, Katalikawe (Buruuli), Dr. Kisamba Mugerwa (Bamunanika) and Dr. Semambo.

  12.Clearly, DP has always had roots in Luweero, which Brenda has now re-awakened.