5 Incumbent MPs In Tooro Region Lose Seats

Five Members of Parliament in the Tooro region have lost their seats.
Kabarole district registra Valley Kanzira declares final results
Five incumbent Members of Parliament in some districts in the Tooro region have been defeated in the just concluded parliamentary elections.

In Kabarole, Valley Kanzira, the district registrar declared Sylvia Rwabwogo winner of the district woman parliamentary seat.

Rwabwogo, a radio presenter and district councillor, defeated the incumbent, Victoria Rusoke. Rwabwogo polled 97,518 votes while Rusoke an independent candidate got 65,888 votes.

Margaret Muhanga, a former woman MP for Kabarole district, was declared winner for Burahaya County seat. She defeated the incumbent MP Steven Kagwera with 36,424 votes against  Kagwera's 21,536 votes.

In Bundibugyo district, the incumbent Woman MP, Harriet Ntabazi lost to the NRM party candidate Josephine Babungi. Babungi polled 38,423 votes against Ntabazi's 36,254.

In Ntoroko district, all the incumbent MPs lost to newcomers.

Jennifer Mujungu, the Woman MP lost to Anne Kobugabe, an independent candidate. Kobugabe polled 32,789 votes while Mujungu got 27,890.

Martin Mugarra, the MP for Ntoroko County, lost to Gerald Rwemulikya Ibanda.

Ibanda polled 34,542 votes against Mugarra's 20,567. 

Ibanda was on Monday disqualified by the Electoral Commission on allegations that he is a Congolese national. However, the High Court re-instated him, on the eve of elections. 

Meanwhile, in Bunyangabu County, Kabarole district, Adolf Mwesige, the Minister for Local Government bounced back with 26,632 votes against his main rival Vincent Owomujuni who polled 16,014 votes.

Alex Ruhunda, the incumbent MP Fort Portal Municipality was also declared winner. Ruhunda defeated his rival, Dr Richard Mugahi with 10,322 votes against Mugahi's 6,841 votes.

In Bughendera County, Bundibugyo district, former Forum for Democratic Change (FDC) party strongman, Christopher Kibanzanga was declared winner with 16,251 votes. His rival, independent candidate Acrobat Kiiza polled 9,502 votes.

Images 1