Five NRM Primary Elections Losers Bounce Back as Independents

Five candidates who lost in the NRM primary elections in Arua have announced plans to contest as independents in the 2011 elections.

They are Ratib Buga, who is eyeing Arua municipality seat, Margaret Angufiru, incumbent Ayivu MP, Santos Erwaga Moyo East MP, Knight Ajio and Alice Arumadri.

In an interview with URN this afternoon all the candidates said they will contest as independents because they were rigged out of the polls.

Knight Ajio, a new comer in the area of politics says that she didn't know that some people can easily be bribed easily.

Ajio says that if she had anticipated voter bribery she would have employed the same tactics to win the polls.

She contested for elections and lost to Rita Popo as NRM flag bearer for Arua district woman MP. Santos Erwaga, incumbent Moyo East MP lost to his rival General Moses Ali.

Erwaga accuses the NRM district officials in Adjuman of rigging the polls in favor of Moses Ali on allegations of poor performance.

The MP says that he will contest as an independent and defeat Moses Ali since he beat him in the 2006 elections.

In Yumbe, Ashraf Olega, says he lost to his opponent because Sudanese were ferried to in to come and vote.

Olega is confident to defeat his opponent as an independent saying that people in Yumbe know his is a performer.

Moses Ali, the NRM regional chairperson for West Nile appeals to the losing candidates to concede defeat.

He says that party plans to restrain all losing candidates from standing as independents before the nomination exercise starts.