Gov't Approves Creation of Five Town Councils in Luweero

The approved town councils are Kikyusa, Zirobwe, Busiika, Ndejje and Kamira towns.
Luweero district headquarters
The Ministry of Local Government has approved creation of five town councils in Luweero district.

The approved town councils are Kikyusa, Zirobwe, Busiika, Ndejje and Kamira towns.

The confirmation of approval is contained in a letter dated 24th April 2019 signed by Ben Kumumanya the Permanent Secretary of Local Government Ministry addressed to John Chrysostom Muyingo the Bamunanika Constituency MP who is also State Minister for Higher Education.

 In the Letter Kumumanya says the town councils were approved by the Government and will be gazetted soon to start operations.

The letter was a response to earlier request by Minister Muyingo asking Local Government Ministry to provide him information regarding the progress on request by his constituents and local leaders on elevation trading centres to town council status.

Minister Muyingo is on official tour in China but his aide Wasswa Tamale said he got the reply and explained that he was told that Zirobwe and Kikyusa town council will become operational effective July 2019.

Wasswa adds that other three town councils were to start operations in July 2019.

Disan Kikabi the Speaker of Luweero District Council says that the district endorsed elevation of trading centres to council status so as to bring services closer to people and increase resource mobilization as well as allocation.

Kikabi says the trading centres had become too big for management by sub-counties and it was overdue to elevate them to town council status.

He, however, noted that the Ministry has rejected creation of Kabunyata and Mazzi town councils in Kamira Sub County which they had also requested.

He also said that the government is also still silent on elevation of Luweero and Wobulenzi town councils to municipal status which were submitted for consideration.

Livingstone Kategeya a resident of Kamira trading centre said the elevation of their trading centre to town council was a blessing and it will help them to lobby for extension of clean water to the area.

Kategeya noted that currently the trading centre is water stressed and the district had failed to address the matter something should be a priority of new town council authorities.

He also emphasized the benefits of better planning  and jobs which comes with elevation to town council status.

However other residents led by Sam Musanje of Kikyusa town fear that the town councils may attract increased taxation to cater for their operations.

The approval means the number of town councils in Luweero now increases to eight from three that have been operational for decades. The other three are Bombo, Luweero and Wobulenzi town councils.

Last year, the government approved creation of 189 town councils across the country of which 78 of were to become operational in July that year.

However, there are complaints that some have failed to start over lack of funds.

Recently the Prime Minister Ruhakana Rugunda was quoted saying that all newly created town councils will become functional when government gets the necessary funds.

Section 7(3) of the Local Government Act says that "subject to the Town and Country Planning Act (now the Physical Planning Act), the minister may, in consultation with the district with the approval of Cabinet after satisfying himself or herself that the requirements under paragraph 3 of the Third Schedule are met, declare an area to be a town". 

Images 1