Incumbent LC V Chairpersons in Elgon, Bukedi Lose to New Entrants

Top story
In Busia district, the National Resistance Movement-NRM candidate, Stephen Mugeni Wasike trounced the incumbent, Geoffrey Wandera.
21 Jan 2021 14:09

Audio 2

None of the incumbent LC V chairpersons in Bukedi and Elgon Subregions retained their seat in the just concluded local government elections. In Busia district, the National Resistance Movement-NRM candidate, Stephen Mugeni Wasike trounced the incumbent, Geoffrey Wandera.

Wasike polled 30,545 votes against 9,336 votes garnered by the incumbent. Independent candidate, Paul Boniface Oguttu came third with 17, 336 votes while the Forum for Democratic Change-FDC candidate, Raymond Ochieng was disqualified by Electoral Commission hours to the end of the polls.


In Butebo district, NRM’s James Okurut beat the Incumbent Sam Keddi. According to the final tally, Okurut scored 13,952 votes against 12,419 garnered by Keddi. Independent candidate, Namondi Mulekwa trailed in the race with 7559 votes. In Kibuku district, the incumbent and NRM candidate, Charles Kadyama lost to Muhammad Nakeba.   

The incumbent garnered 24,771 votes against Nakeba’s 25,437 votes. In the neighbouring Budaka district, the incumbent LC V Chairperson, Sam Mulomi, who ran as an independent, suffered overwhelming defeat by NRM’s Emmanuel Pajje.

Mulomi garnered 9901 votes against 22,482 votes managed by his rival. Simon Peter Wananzofu, the incumbent Bulambuli LC 5 Chairperson, who ran as an independent was humiliated by Annet Nandudu, also an independent. 

Wananzofu garnered 9619 votes against 35,246 votes polled by Nandudu. In Kapchorwa district, the Incumbent LC V Chairperson, Christopher Songhor Chekurui suffered defeat by Evelyn Chebet Kubalika, who trounced him during the NRM primaries.

Kubalika garnered 17,041 votes against Songhor’s 15,907 votes. In Butaleja district, the NRM candidate, Michael Higenyi Bore trounced the incumbent, Richard Waya. Bore garnered 41136 votes against Waya’s 15,315 votes.  

In Pallisa, the incumbent LC V Chairperson, John Michael Okurut also lost to his former vice-chairperson, Patrick Duchu. Duchu polled 32,556 votes against Okurut’s 22,996 votes. In Bukwo, Bududa, Mbale, Manafwa, Namisindwa, Sironko, Kween and Tororo districts, the incumbents didn’t seek re-election.

The Bukwo, Namisindwa and Sironko LC V Chairpersons bowed out of the race after losing in the NRM primaries. The Mbale LC V Chairperson, Bernard Elly Mujasi, John Musila of Manafwa and Wilson Watila of Bududa decided to run for a parliamentary seat. 

Only John Musila was elected Bubulo East County Member of Parliament in Namisindwa district. Wopuwa was recently appointed Bududa Resident Commissioner. Jackson Wakweika is the new Namisindwa LC V chairperson after polling 36,737 votes against his closest independent opponent, Johnson Maboni who got 12,768. NRM’s Julius Moses Chelimo is new Bukwo LC V chairperson after defeating his rival, Job Chemos Murefu.       

In Sironko district, FDC’s David Livingstone Giruli emerged winner after polling 38,895 votes against 28,441votes polled by his NRM rival, Alex Rogers Nabende. In Mbale the incumbent district council speaker, Muhammad Mafabi won the LC V Chairperson’s race.

He polled 17887 votes beating his closet contender, Alfred Namasa who garnered 15249 votes. The two contested as independent candidates. In Bududa, Milton Kamoti Wasunguyi, the NRM candidate emerged the winner.

He garnered 24,207 votes to defeat his independent rival, Geoffrey Natubu who polled 12,869 votes. Natubu is the current speaker of Bududa district and Bulucheke Sub County LC V councillor.

The FDC candidate, Kuloba Kano garnered 2539 votes while independent candidate, Emmanuel Matsyetsye Koboi got 856 votes.

Stephen Mugeni Wasike, the Busia district LC 5 Chairman-elect has pledged to focus on poverty alleviation and job creation among youths.  

//Cue in: “Victory in the way…  


Cue out:…as a problem,”//  

His rival and incumbent LC V Chairperson, Geoffrey Wandera has conceded defeat and called upon the newly elected leaders and their predecessors to unite for the betterment and development of Busia district.  


//Cue in: "Even if when...  

Cue our people"//


Patrick Duchu, the Pallisa district LC V elect has also promised to work with all people regardless of who they voted for " I want to thank God for this victory and the people of Pallisa. Surely, I am excited so much and I promise to work for the good of my people," said Duchu.

Annet Nandudu, the Bulambuli LC V chairperson elect has also pledged to address unemployment and corruption that had derailed service delivery in the district.

Meanwhile, the Forum for Democratic Change candidate, Kasim Namugali won the Mbale City mayoral race. Namugali garnered 13259 votes beating his closet contender and National Resistance Movement-NRM candidate, Vincent Magombe who got 11531 votes.    

The incumbent Mayor Mutwalib Zandya came third with 5526 votes followed by Hashim Mwenyi with 1250. Pastor Godfrey Wanyama got 2524 votes, William Masai 3172, Abdul Magoola 5555, the National Unity Platform candidate, Abasa Wetaaka 2741 votes while Karim Wodero trailed the pack with 200 votes.   ,                    

Images 1