Warning: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /usr/www/users/urnnet/a/story.php on line 43
Kapelebyong Councilors Take Oath Using Phone Torches :: Uganda Radionetwork

Kapelebyong Councilors Take Oath Using Phone Torches

Aanyu arrived in Kapelebyong at 6:48 pm after a heavy downpour and found the councillors stranded with no light.
Kapelebyong Councilors swear in at night.

Audio 1

Newly elected councilors of Kapelebyong district on Wednesday took oath using phone torches.

The function that was held at the district headquarters started at 7:00pm after the Chief Magistrate, Margret Aanyu was delayed by similar ceremonies in Kaberamaido, Kalaki, Katakwi and Amuria districts.

Aanyu arrived in Kapelebyong District Headquarters at 6:48 pm after a heavy downpour and found the councilors stranded with no light. The swearing-in ceremony started at 7:00 pm with councilors put in groups of six people to save time. Relatives of the councilors resorted to phone torches to light for the leaders as they took their oath.

Richard Ewalu, the Akoromit Sub County councilor said that although the swearing-in was delayed, there was no shortcut to office.

Francis Akorikin, the LCV Chairperson said that much as the delay was justified , there is a need to improve the services in Kapelebyong district. He questioned why there is only one Chief Magistrate in the region.

// cue in “We only have…

Cue out…the last”//

The swearing-in ceremonies of district local leaders were restricted from May 12 to 19 by the Ministry of Local Government.

All the districts in the Teso sub-region started the ceremonies on Tuesday with the Chief Magistrate handling three districts and concluded with five on Wednesday. The other districts of Ngora, Kumi and Bukedea were allocated another judicial officer to administer the oaths.

The new leaders of Kapelebyong face an uphill task of improving service delivery especially in the area of health, education and road network. The new district has some sub-counties without health and education facilities while most of the roads are impassable.

Richard Okiru, the Acinga Sub County Councilor was elected speaker of the new council.