Warning: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /usr/www/users/urnnet/a/story.php on line 43
New Districts Struggle to Offer Secondary Education :: Uganda Radionetwork

New Districts Struggle to Offer Secondary Education

John Kisoke, the Kyegegwa District LC V Chairman and Education Secretary, says government should fulfill the policy of having a secondary school at every sub-county.

Audio 3

Newly created districts in Rwenzori region are struggling to offer secondary education due to lack of schools. According to the government policy, each sub county should have a secondary school.


However, some of the sub counties in Ntoroko and Kyegegwa district lack secondary schools. Only two of the six sub counties in Ntoroko district including Rwebisengo and Karugutu Sub Counties have a secondary school each.


The remaining sub counties including Kanara, Buntungama, Nombe and Bweramule lack schools. Charles Musingwire, the LC 3 Chairperson Buntungama Sub County, says the sub county faces a big challenge of absorbing pupils who have completed their Universal Primary Education-UPE every year.


He explains that government is yet to fulfill its promise of constructing at least a secondary school in each sub county. Musingwire adds that more than 300 children in the area have failed to access secondary school because they cannot afford studying in private schools, which compromises their future.


//Cue in: …we are appealing…

Cue out: "…uplift standards."//

David Kituku, a resident of Nombe says the schools are sparsely located forcing children to drop out or move long distances to access education. Kituku says the nearest secondary school is in Rwebisengo, which is 25 Kilometers away.

//Cue in: "as far as education…

Cue out: "…walking long distances."//

Samuel Mugisa, the Ntoroko District Education Officer, says that he has often reminded government about the need to have a secondary school in every sub county but there hasn't been any response. He explains that more than 700 children in the district have failed to access secondary education.

John Kisoke, the Kyegegwa District LC V Chairman and Education Secretary, says government should fulfill the policy of having a secondary school at every sub-county. He notes that since 2015, more than 900 children from Mpara, Ruyonza and Kasule sub counties have either dropped out of school or been forced to join secondary schools in the neighboring Kyenjojo district 

In Ruyonza Sub County, Enock Musinguzi, the LC V Councilor says there are two community schools in the area, which can be taken up by government to upgrade them into modern secondary schools. 

Henry Magezi, the headmaster of Ruyonza Community School, says the communities have failed to manage the school leading to its deterioration and poor educational standards.

//Cue in: "students lack…

Cue out: "…the little we have."//


Four of the nine sub counties in Bunyangabu district lack secondary schools. They areRwimi, Kiyombya, Kabonero and Kibiito. The LC V Chairman, James Mugarama says the district has written to the Ministry of Education requesting for construction of secondary schools.

The situation is however different in some of the old districts in the region. In Kabarole district, there is at least a secondary school in all the 10 sub counties, while in Bundibugyo, 14 out of the 15 sub counties have a secondary school.

Patrick Rwakaikara, the Kabarole district education officer says despite children accessing secondary education, the school structures are dilapidated. Last year while appearing on the floor of Parliament, the Prime Minister Dr. Ruhakana Rugunda said 273 sub counties lack secondary schools. He said the Ministry of Education is implementing a programme to ensure that every sub-county has a public secondary school.


In 2015, while closing the National Resistance Movement - NRM caucus retreat at Kyankwanzi, President Museveni pledged to mobilize Shillings 137 billion to construct secondary schools in the 274 sub counties across the country within a space of one year. 

According to the Ministry of Education, so far government has constructed secondary schools in 1096 Sub Counties.

Support us