Warning: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /usr/www/users/urnnet/a/story.php on line 43
NRM Candidate Wins Isingiro Woman MP By-Election :: Uganda Radionetwork

NRM Candidate Wins Isingiro Woman MP By-Election

Audio 1

Deprecated: trim(): Passing null to parameter #1 ($string) of type string is deprecated in /usr/www/users/urnnet/a/story.php on line 663
Grace Byarugaba has been declared winner of the Isingiro Woman MP by-election.
Byarugaba of the National Resistance Movement was declared winner shortly after 2 a.m., taking the election by a margin of more than 44,000 votes. She polled 58,965 votes, trumping over Stella Kafureka of the Forum for Democratic Change who polled just more than 14,500 votes.
The Isingiro Returning Officer, Harriet Kashagire, said the elections were successful, free and fair.
Grace Byarugaba's supporters celebrated late into the night after the election results were announced. Bosco Katabazi, who represented the MP-elect at the reading of the results, said he was satisfied with the outcome.
Stella Kafureka had no representative at the tallying center and has not publicly reacted to the polls.
Badru Kiggundu , the Electoral Commission chairman, hailed the people of Isingiro district for holding a peaceful election.

Support us