Christine Nakwang Tubo Wins Kaabong Woman MP By- election

In the results announced at 1:43am by the Kaabong District Registrar, Julius Ogwang Ongom, at Kaabong Community Hall, Nakwang garnered 22,532 votes against Adyaka's 1,692 votes.
Christine Nakwang Tubo checking her name at Kaabong Police Primary School Polling Station on Thursday.

Audio 1

Christine Nakwang Tubo, the National Resistance Movement, NRM Party candidate has won the Woman MP seat for Kaabong District. 

She was declared winner by the District Returning Officer, Julius Ogwang Ongom at the Kaabong Community Hall. 

Nakwang was competing with the Forum for Democratic Change, FDC’s Judith Adyaka Nalibe who abandoned the race over allegations of limited support from her party.

Nakwang garnered 22,532 votes against Adyaka’s 1,692 votes.

Adyaka fled the district weeks before the final whistle to the polls. She even failed to turn up to cast her vote at Camp Swahili NUSAF Community Hall. 

Nakwang says that during her term, she will prioritise improving health, education and agriculture in the district. 

// cue in “The major challenge… Cue out…are pastoralists”//

She returns to Parliament after losing the seat to Rose Lilly Akello in another by-election in 2017.