NRM's Ssemwanga Unopposed MP For Buyamba County As Nominations Close

Sarah Nabukeera, the Rakai Electoral Commission District Registrar confirms that they received only one candidate seeking to contest as MP for Buyamba County MP.
Gyaviira Ssemwanga, the NRM Flagbearer for Buyamba County who has emerged unopposed during the NRM primaries (File Photo)

Audio 4

The Rakai Electoral Commission District Registrar Sarah Nabukeera has confirmed that they only received nomination for one candidate seeking to contest as MP for Byamba County.

The National Resistance Movement - NRM flagbearer Gyaviira Ssemwanga was the only candidate was unopposed as nominations closed yesterday.

Ssemwanga won NRM party ticket after he defeated the incumbent MP Amos Mandela with 43,459 votes against 17,324 votes. He says the developments have surprised him because he did not imagine it would happen this way because he joined the race as a first time contestant who was highly despised by his opponent.

He said he is delighted because he has been saved from the tough challenges that come with running campaigns for the general elections.

//Cue in: “a person like me… 

Cue out; … to make it.”//   


//Cue in: “nfunye okunyomoolwa…  Cue out; ….n’anyamba nempitawo.”//

Ssemwanga promises to represent his people well in parliament by lobbying government and other stakeholders towards improving the social welfare of his constituents, especially restoring home among the many victims of HIV/AIDs scourge in the area.

Cue in: “Our constituency…..

Cue out; ….believe in themselves.”//


//Cue in: “okusokeera ddala….

Cue out; ….omubaka wa Parliament.”//

In the other constituencies of Rakai district, Boaz Kasirabo Ninsiima, the  incumbent MP for Buyamba County and NRM flagbearer is facing NUP’s Henry Ndinaimwe and independent candidate David Mpuuga.

For the Rakai District Woman MP, the incumbent Juliet Kinyamatama who lost in the party primaries is contesting against NRM flagbearer Asha Lubyayi Kayanja, NUPs Grace Nalubega and independent candidate Nowerina Kinkanshemeza.