Parliament\'s Appointments Committee Approves New Judges

Justices Augustine Nshimye, Faith Mwondha, Rubby Opio Aweri, Eldard Mwangusya and Prof. Lillian Tibatemwa Ekirikubinza have all been approved to serve in the Supreme Court.
Parliament approves newly appointed judges
Parliament\'s Appointments committee has approved the appointment of all twelve justices to serve in the Supreme Court and Court of Appeal.

Justice Augustine Nshimye, Lady Justice Faith Mwondha, Justice Rubby Opio Aweri, Justice Eldard Mwangusya and Lady Justice Prof. Lillian Tibatemwa Ekirikubinza were vetted to serve on the Supreme Court.

All these five appointees were previously Justices of the Court of Appeal and their appointments bring the total number of Supreme Court judges to nine, including Chief Justice Bart Katureebe.

Justices Alphonse Owiny Dollo, Elizabeth Musoke, Paul Mugamba, Simon Byabakama, Catherine Bamugemereire, Hellen Obura and Cheborion Barishaki were on the other hand given the nod to sit on Court of Appeal bench.

Apart from Cheborion who served as Director Civil Litigation in the Ministry of Justice, the other appointees were formerly High Court judges.

The judges declined to speak to the media shortly after being vetted. But Justice Mwangusya, in a brief statement, told journalists that clearing case backlog would be one of his priorities.

This after some of the legislators on the committee, according to sources, raised concerns over increasing backlog in the judiciary, coupled with shortage of judges.

Images 1