Peter Okot Named DP Whip in Parliament

The Democratic Party (DP) has appointed Tochi county Member of Parliament Peter Okot as their party whip in the 11th parliament.
Peter Okot

Audio 1

The Democratic Party (DP) has appointed Tochi County Member of Parliament Peter Okot as its whip in the 11th parliament. 

Okot who will be serving his second term as MP replaces the Kalungu West Member of Parliament Joseph Sewungu who last year crossed to the National Unity platform (NUP).

The main role of the whip is to ensure party discipline, including ensuring that MPs attend voting sessions when it comes to key decisions but also vote according to their party's official position.

Okot will be deputized by the Mityana South MP Lumu Richard.

In an interview, Okot says that their main duty is to mainly ensure cohesion among the nine members of the Democratic Party in parliament. Okot will serve as the party whip for the next two and half years.

//Cue in:” I was privileged…

Cue out:…the sectorial committees”//

Okot also says that the party members have chosen the committees they want to be allocated to. He says that the list will be availed after the appointment of the Opposition Chief Whip.

DP had 15 members of Parliament in the 10th Parliament, but 10 crossed to the National Unity Platform (NUP). They are; Mathias Mpuuga, Joseph Ssewungu, Medard Ssegona, Betty Nambooze, Muwanga Kivumbi, Allan Ssewanyana , Ssempala Kigozi ,Ssentongo Robinah , Veronica Namaganda , and Florence Namayanja.

The NUP which is the majority party in Parliament will lead the opposition in Parliament and NUP President Robert Kyagulanyi Ssentamu will appoint the Leader of Opposition, and the Opposition chief whip among others.

Images 1