Rakai, Bukomansimbi LC 5 Incumbents Lose Re-Elections Bids

24 Feb 2011 10:09
The incumbent LC 5 chairpersons for Rakai and Bukomansimbi have lost their re-election bids. Both however have refused to concede defeat and want to challenge the results in the courts of law.

Vincent Ssemakula, the incumbent Rakai Chairperson lost the election to Robert Benon Mugabi (independent).

Justine Mbura, the Rakai district returning officer, declared Benon Mugabi winner of the Rakai district LC 5 seat, after polling 53,365 votes, against Vincent Ssemakula's 32,045, votes.

But Ssemakula who was seeking for a third term in office, has rejected the polls citing vote rigging and vowed to challenge the results in court.

In Bukomansimbi, The NRM party's Catherine Tebulya Matovu also lost her re-election bid to JEMA'S Muhamadi Kateregga.

Annet Aheebwa, the Bukomansimbi district returning officer declared Muhamadi Kateregga winner with 14,178 votes, against Tebulya's 12,587 votes.

Fred Nyenje Kayiira of the Democratic Partyy trailed with 2,423 votes.

Catherine Tebulya has also rejected the polls citing massive irregularities in the polls. She claims that the polls in which her rival was pushed to victory were marred by voters' bribery and rigging. She also wants to petition the electoral commission over the results.