Refugee Host Districts Get UGX 555 bn

According to the minister for Relief, Disaster Preparedness and Refugees, Hillary Onek, the money is going to be used to improve on services in the health, education and infrastructure sectors in the districts that have been stressed by the big refugee numbers
16 Apr 2019 19:50
Hillary Onek, the minister for Relief, Disaster Preparedness and Refugees

Audio 2

13 refugee host districts are set to benefit from a 555 billion shillings World Bank grant.

According to the Minister for Relief, Disaster Preparedness and Refugees, Hillary Onek, the money will be used to improve services in health, education and infrastructure in the districts.

Some of the districts include; Adjumani, Arua, Hoima, Isingiro, Kamwenge, Kiryadondo, Koboko, Kyegegwa, Lamwo, Moyo and Yumbe.

The money is being availed under the International Development Association-IDA fund of the World Bank aimed at helping countries pursue their own economic goals while they accommodate the large numbers of refugees.

This is the second time that Uganda is getting funds under this association. The first was in 2017.

While addressing the press at Media Center on Tuesday, Onek highlighted the need for the funds. He said that hosting refugees has exerted a lot of pressure on government’s ability to provide social services for its citizens.

//Cue in; “Uganda is hosting…

Cue out…our people.”//

According to data from the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees-UNHCR there are more than one million refugees in Uganda.

Onek adds that government is in the process of applying for an additional 1.8 trillion shillings that will go towards the construction of roads leading to and within refugee hosting districts.

//Cue in; “We are further…  

Cue out…will be tarmacked.”// 

Countries liable to the funds under IDA need to host more than 25,000 refugees.

A total of USD 2 billion was earmarked to the fund. Other countries that have benefited include; Burkina Faso, DRC, Burundi, Mauritania, Rwanda, Chad, Cameroon, Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Ethiopia and Niger.